With iOS 7, Apple has introduced AirDrop functionality for all iPhone 5 models, the fourth-generation iPad, the iPad mini, and the fifth-generation iPod touch. AirDrop is simply a technology that allows users to quickly and easily share information between compatible iOS devices. A wide variety of information can be shared, such as: photos, contacts, web pages, notes, iTunes radio stations, and more.
For AirDrop to work properly, you must be signed in to an iCloud account, have Bluetooth enabled on your device, and be connected to a Wi-Fi network. Additional configuration options are available in the Control Center in iOS 7. To access the Control Center, swipe up from the bottom of the screen. You will see a window that provides quick access to many of the frequently used device settings. Bluetooth can be enabled by selecting the icon in the middle of the top row.
Touch the AirDrop button to select whether your device will be visible to everyone, contacts only, or to disable the service. This essentially allows you some control over who can send you information. The Contacts Only setting will only accept information from people listed in your Contacts. To receive information from someone who is not in your Contacts, select the Everyone setting.
When you want to send something to someone else, tap the Share button. It is shaped like a square with an arrow pointing upwards.
A sharing sheet will open with various options for sharing the information. If any AirDrop recipients are available within range (approximately 30 feet), their icon will appear automatically. If the recipient appears in your Contacts, their contact photo and nickname will be displayed. It may take a moment to identify if there are any AirDrop-compatible devices in the area. A recipient’s device must be active (screen is not black) for the device to be identified.
Touch the person’s icon to send the information to them. The recipient will receive a notification that you want to send them something. They have the option of accepting or rejecting the information. If the item is accepted, a copy of the data is sent to your device and you will see a confirmation once the transfer is complete.
On the recipient’s device, the information is automatically opened in the corresponding application. For example, if you send a link to a web page from Safari, the web page will automatically open in Safari on the recipient’s device.